Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Karen and Kristi at Swiftwater Cellars to celebrate her ?? birthday.

To the outside world we all grow old. But not to brothers and sisters. We know each other as we always were. We know each other’s hearts. We share private family jokes. We remember family feuds and secrets, family griefs and joys. We live outside the touch of time.

~Clara Ortega

Today I am thankful for safe travel through the dark and rain; for Bodie coming home; and for the special time I got to spend with my sister.

Yesterday was a milestone birthday for my sister. We weren’t able to be together on the actual day so we each drove a couple of hours and met in the middle today at Swiftwater Cellars for lunch. It was the perfect getaway for both of us and I’m very thankful for our time together. After lunch we found a really nice Christmas Bazaar at the Lodge at Suncadia and enjoyed doing some shopping.

If I could choose one word to describe my sister it would be “compassionate”. She would do absolutely anything to help someone, whether it was a friend or colleague, or someone she met in a store. My mind is flooded with stories I could tell about her, but I guess some things are better left private. Nearly all of us have brothers or sisters and you know exactly what I mean, so you can fill in your own story here.

  1. What’s the funniest thing your brother/sister ever did?
  2. What is one thing your brother/sister taught you that you’ve never forgotten?
  3. What is the happiest memory you have of the two of you together?
  4. Did you ever live with him/her when you were both living on your own?
  5. What is one thing you’d love to tell him/her tonight?
  6. When do you plan to see him/her again?

God, please bless our brothers and sisters, with all of their quirks as well as their memory that never forgets the stupid things we have done. Bless Karen too, for her strength and determination, her sound advice, and her calm during the chaos. Love you sister!